Renovation
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum

The Museum Henry Dunant is getting fit for the future!

The extensive renovation was completed in autumn 2023. With careful and respectful interventions on and in the listed building, the 19th century building was brought into the present and the basis for an open, contemporary museum world was created.


We are currently working on the realisation of the new core exhibition in order to reopen the museum to visitors in August 2024. Until then, the museum will remain closed, but will offer guided tours and workshops for school classes and groups on request. Selected events will supplement the programme during this interim phase until the museum reopens.

Info

Info

The Museum Henry Dunant is the only museum in the world that focuses on the life and work of the visionary initiator of the International Red Cross and the Geneva Conventions. Henry Dunant (1828-1910) spent the last 18 years of his life in Heiden. The Appenzell village with its classicist architecture was an internationally renowned health resort at the time. He wrote his memoirs here. At 800 m. above sea level, with a view of Lake Constance and across borders, he further developed his ideas for a more peaceful world and an International Court of Justice. It was in Heiden in 1901 that he received the announcement that he would be the first person to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. The museum dedicated to him is housed in the building where Dunant lived as a reclusive pensioner until his death on 30 October 1910.


bezirks-krankenhaus-heiden_um1910

History of the building

1 October 1874 marks an important day for the Appenzell region: the first hospital of both Appenzell is opened in Heiden. In 1892, Henry Dunant moves into a room on the 2nd floor of the classicist building as a pensioner. Around a hundred years later, in 1998, the first Henry-Dunant-Museum is opened on the ground floor of the former district hospital. In 2020, a repositioning process is initiated. With a careful conversion of the listed building, the reorganisation of the rooms and a new core exhibition, the museum takes a step into the 21st century. The reopening is planned for autumn 2023.

05_1_bild-4_molekul_1

Vision

Based on the life of the ICRC initiator, the Museum Henry Dunant facilitates an examination of human rights, international law, peace and democracy. Under the co-direction of Kaba Rössler and Nadine Schneider, the museum is turning closer to the present and developing into an interdisciplinary place of dialogue. All of the museum's exhibitions, actions and events have a common goal: to reflect on the humanist heritage and to think ahead so that these values also reach future generations.


→ Complete vision (German)

peacebell_farb_kr_kl

Peace Bell

In front of the Museum Henry Dunant, mounted on an installation by St. Galler artist Lucie Schenker, floats a peculiar object: the Nagasaki Peace Bell. It is one of 5 copies worldwide of these angelus bells, which survived the bombing of the Japanese city on 9 August 1945, practically unscathed. The magnificent bell, a gift from Nagasaki, arrived in Heiden in March 2010. Since then, every year on 9 August, in the context of a public celebration with prominent guests, the catastrophe of Nagasaki is commemorated with the ringing of the peace bell.

denkmal_img_1532_kr

Monument

Forty years after the death of Henry Dunant, Jakob Haug, a master carpenter from Heiden, wants to erect a monument to the initiator of the Red Cross. After several hurdles, he was able to inaugurate Switzerland's first Dunant monument in Heiden in 1962. The sculptor Charlotte Jahn Germann created a remarkable work from 7.5 tonnes of granite from Graubünden. She did not carve Dunant's likeness in stone, but his pioneering idea of humanitarian aid in an abstract representation: a Good Samaritan and a person in need of help.

The unconventional financing is worth mentioning, as all Swiss cantons supported the project with one cent per inhabitant, totalling 45,000 Swiss francs.

Team

Team

The museum is co-managed by Nadine Schneider and Kaba Rössler. They are supported by a committed team.

Association

Association

The Society of the Red Cross Heiden was founded on 27 February 1890 by Henry Dunant and co-sponsored by him as honorary president. After the dissolution of the communal Red Cross societies and the merger into cantonal organisations, the society was renamed the Henry Dunant Museum Association in 1997. Already in the following year, the Henry-Dunant-Museum could be opened in the parterre rooms of the former district hospital. The tax-exempt association aims to keep the memory of Henry Dunant and his visions alive. The association's supporting organisation is the → Swiss Red Cross Cantonal Association of the two Appenzells.

Erwin Ganz
Hans-Peter Hotz
Nicole Nobs
Hanspeter Spörri

Delegate of municipal council

Stefan Züst

Delegate SRC Appenzell AR/AI

Beat Bouquet

Honorary member

John Böhi
Ethel Kocher († 2020)

Honorary president

Hermann Bergundthal
Henry Dunant († 1910)
Support

Support

The Museum Henry Dunant receives recurring financial support from the municipality of Heiden, the cultural promotion of the Canton of Appenzell Ausserrhoden as well as the Appenzellische Gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft (AGG) and the Ebnet Foundation.


The exhibition and event programme is co-financed on a project basis by foundations, sponsors and private patrons as well as by the Circle of Friends.


The Museum Henry Dunant is part of the platform Museen im Appenzellerland, which is supported and managed by the Office of Culture of the Canton of Appenzell Ausserrhoden.

logo-button-2

Thanks for supporting the 2024 programme:

acrevis Bank AG, Appenzellische Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft, Ebnet Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, ippnw, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, SRK beider Appenzell


Thanks for supporting the repositioning:

Appenzellische Winkelriedstiftung, → Beisheim Stiftun g, Bertold-Suhner-Stiftung, Deutsches Rotes Kreuz DRK, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung, Ebnet-Stiftung, ecodocs foundation, → Ernst Göhner Stiftung , Erika und Conrad Schnyder-Stiftung, Ethel Madeleine Kocher sel. (Legat), Frieda und Ulrich Steingruber-Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, Hans und Wilma Stutz Stiftung, Ida Wagner-Rüesch Fonds, Irene Colinet-Stiftung, Jolanda & Walter Maier Stiftung, Kanton Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Kath. Kirchgemeinde Heiden-Rehetobel, Katholischer Konfessionsteil des Kantons St. Gallen, Krüger Foundation, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Liechtensteinisches Rotes Kreuz LRK, Metrohm Stiftung, Otto Gamma-Stiftung, Österreichisches Rotes Kreuz ÖRK, → Paul-Schiller-Stiftung , Peter und Huldi Aeschbacher-Graf Stiftung, Raiffeisenbank Heiden, → Schaffner Gartenmöbel, → Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz SRK , SRK beider Appenzell, Steinegg Stiftung Herisau, Stiftung Corymbo, Stiftung für Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte Winterthur (SKKG), Stiftung Fürstlicher Kommerzienrat Guido Feger, Stiftung Heiden, Stiftung STAB, SwissLife Stiftung «Perspektiven», Swisslos-Fonds Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden, UBS Kulturstiftung, Walter und Verena Spühl-Stiftung, Vontobel-Stiftung


Thanks to the → Circle of Friends of the Museum Henry Dunant


Thanks to the members of the → Matronage and Patronage Committee

Annual Report

Annual Report

The Museum Henry Dunant and the Bernisches Historisches Museum together were the first museums in Switzerland to develop a museum-specific digital form for the annual report. Vivid and entertaining insights into the museum world, rich in exciting background information, pictures, graphics and films make reading the annual report a pleasure...

...

...

Transformation
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum
b_221130_umbauansicht_dunantmuseum
In Arbeit – Umbauansicht November 2022 © dunant-museum
bild1_der-neue-museumszugang2023
Der neue einladende Museumszugang; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1607
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1441
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1510
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1567
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
232006_dunant_museum_1557
Nach dem Umbau; Foto Jürg Zürcher © Dunant-Museum 2023
bild3_221130_schneider_rossler_dunant_museum

Le Musée Henry Dunant se prépare pour l'avenir !

La rénovation complète a été achevée à l'automne 2023. Des interventions minutieuses et respectueuses sur et dans le bâtiment classé monument historique ont permis de remettre le bâtiment du 19e siècle au goût du jour et de créer les bases d'un univers muséal ouvert et contemporain.


Actuellement, nous travaillons à la réalisation de la nouvelle exposition principale afin de pouvoir rouvrir le musée aux visiteurs en août 2024. D'ici là, le musée restera fermé, mais proposera sur demande des visites guidées et des ateliers pour les classes et les groupes. Des Événements sélectionnés complètent le programme pendant cette phase intermédiaire jusqu'à la réouverture.

Info

Info

Le Musée Henry Dunant est le seul musée au monde à retracer la vie et l'œuvre de l'initiateur visionnaire de la Croix-Rouge internationale et des Conventions de Genève. Henry Dunant (1828-1910) a passé les 18 dernières années de sa vie à Heiden. Ce village appenzellois à l'architecture néoclassique était alors une station thermale de renommée internationale. C'est ici qu'il a rédigé ses mémoires. À 800 m d'altitude, avec vue sur le lac de Constance et par-delà les frontières, il a continué à développer ses idées pour un monde plus pacifique et une Cour internationale de justice. C'est à Heiden qu'il a reçu en 1901 l'annonce qu'il serait le premier à recevoir le prix Nobel de la paix. Le musée qui lui est consacré est installé dans le bâtiment où Dunant a vécu en tant que retraité retiré jusqu'à sa mort le 30 octobre 1910.


bezirks-krankenhaus-heiden_um1910

Histoire du bâtiment

Le 1er octobre 1874 marque un jour important pour la région d'Appenzell: le premier hôpital des deux Appenzell est ouvert à Heiden. En 1892, Henry Dunant s'installe en tant que pensionnaire dans une chambre au deuxième étage du bâtiment de style classique. Quelque cent ans plus tard, en 1998, le premier musée Henry Dunant peut être ouvert au rez-de-chaussée de l'ancien hôpital de district. En 2020, un processus de repositionnement est lancé. Grâce à une transformation soigneuse du bâtiment classé monument historique, à la réorganisation des espaces et à une nouvelle exposition centrale, le musée fait un pas vers le 21e siècle. La réouverture est prévue pour l'automne 2023.

05_1_bild-4_molekul_1

Vision

En partant de la vie de l'initiateur du CICR, le Musée Henry Dunant permet d'aborder les droits de l'homme, le droit international, la paix et la démocratie. Sous la codirection de Kaba Rössler et de Nadine Schneider, le musée se tourne plus étroitement vers le présent et se développe en un lieu de dialogue interdisciplinaire. Toutes les expositions, actions et manifestations du musée ont un objectif commun: réfléchir à l'héritage humaniste et continuer à le penser afin que ces valeurs atteignent aussi les générations futures.

→ Vers la vision complète (allemand)

peacebell_farb_kr_kl

Peace Bell

Devant le Musée Henry Dunant, un objet extraordinaire est suspendu dans une installation de l'artiste saint-galloise Lucie Schenker: la Peace Bell, la cloche de la paix de Nagasaki. Il s'agit de l'un des 5 exemplaires existant au monde de la cloche d'angélus qui a réchappé sans dommage au bombardement atomique de la ville japonaise, le 9 août 1945. Cette magnifique cloche, cadeau de Nagasaki, est arrivée à Heiden en mars 2010. Depuis, tous les ans, le 9 août, le tintement de la cloche de la paix commémore la catastrophe de Nagasaki, dans le cadre d'une cérémonie officielle à laquelle participent d'éminentes personnalités.

denkmal_img_1532_kr

Monument

Quarante ans après la mort d'Henry Dunant, le maître menuisier Jakob Haug, originaire de Heiden, veut ériger un monument à l'initiateur de la Croix-Rouge. Après de nombreux obstacles, il peut inaugurer en 1962 le premier monument Dunant de Suisse à Heiden. La sculptrice Charlotte Jahn Germann a réalisé une œuvre remarquable à partir de 7,5 tonnes de granit des Grisons. Elle n'a pas sculpté le portrait de Dunant dans la pierre, mais son idée pionnière de l'aide humanitaire, représentée de manière abstraite: un bon samaritain et une personne ayant besoin d'aide.

Il convient de mentionner le financement non conventionnel, puisque tous les cantons suisses ont soutenu le projet à hauteur d'un centime par habitant, soit 45'000 francs au total.

Équipe

Équipe

Le musée est codirigé par Nadine Schneider et Kaba Rössler. Elles sont soutenues par une équipe engagée.

Direction générale

Secrétariat, participation aux projets

Accueil, information, administration

Association

Association

La Société de la Croix-Rouge de Heiden a été fondée le 27 février 1890 par Henry Dunant, qui en a été le président d'honneur. Après la dissolution des sociétés communales de la Croix-Rouge et le regroupement en organisations cantonales, la société la société a été renommée en 1997 Association du Musée Henry Dunant. Dès l'année suivante, le musée Henry-Dunant a pu être ouvert dans les locaux du parterre de l'ancien hôpital de district. L'association, exonérée d'impôts, a pour objectif de faire vivre la mémoire d'Henry Dunant et ses visions. Des expositions et des manifestations permettent de transmettre des valeurs humanitaires dans le contexte actuel. L'organisation responsable de l'association est → l'association cantonale de la Croix-Rouge suisse des deux Appenzell.

Erwin Ganz
Hans-Peter Hotz
Nicole Nobs (Vice président)
Hanspeter Spörri

Délégué du conseil communal

Stefan Züst

Délégué CRS Appenzell AR/AI

Beat Bouquet

Membre honoraire

John Böhi
Ethel Kocher († 2020)

Président honoraire

Hermann Bergundthal
Henry Dunant († 1910)
Support

Support

Le Musée Henry Dunant bénéficie du soutien financier récurrent de la commune de Heiden, de la promotion culturelle du canton d'Appenzell Ausserrhoden ainsi que de la Appenzellischen Gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft (AGG) et de la Fondation Ebnet.


Le programme d'expositions et de manifestations est cofinancé, en fonction des projets, par des fondations, des sponsors et des donateurs privés ainsi que par le cercle d'amis.


Le Musée Henry Dunant fait partie de la plate-forme Museen im Appenzellerland, qui est soutenue et gérée par l'Office de la culture du canton d'Appenzell Ausserrhoden.

logo-button-2

Remerciements pour le soutien au programme 2024:

acrevis Bank AG, Appenzellische Gemeinnützige Gesellschaft, Ebnet Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, ippnw, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, SRK beider Appenzell


Remerciements pour le soutien au repositionnement:

Appenzellische Winkelriedstiftung, → Beisheim Stiftun g, Bertold-Suhner-Stiftung, Deutsches Rotes Kreuz DRK, Dr. Fred Styger Stiftung, Ebnet-Stiftung, ecodocs foundation, → Ernst Göhner Stift ung, Erika und Conrad Schnyder-Stiftung, Ethel Madeleine Kocher sel. (Legat), Frieda und Ulrich Steingruber-Stiftung, Gemeinde Heiden, Hans und Wilma Stutz Stiftung, Irene Colinet-Stiftung, Jolanda & Walter Maier Stiftung, Kanton Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Kath. Kirchgemeinde Heiden-Rehetobel, Katholischer Konfessionsteil des Kantons St. Gallen, Krüger Foundation, Kulturförderung Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Liechtensteinisches Rotes Kreuz LRK, Metrohm Stiftung, Otto Gamma-Stiftung, Österreichisches Rotes Kreuz ÖRK, → Paul-Schiller-Stiftung , Peter und Huldi Aeschbacher-Graf Stiftung, Raiffeisenbank Heiden, → Schweizerisches Rotes Kreuz SRK , SRK beider Appenzell, Steinegg Stiftung Herisau, Stiftung für Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte Winterthur (SKKG), Stiftung Fürstlicher Kommerzienrat Guido Feger, Stiftung Heiden, Stiftung STAB, SwissLife Stiftung «Perspektiven», Swisslos-Fonds Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden,UBS Kulturstiftung, Walter und Verena Spühl-Stiftung, Vontobel-Stiftung


Remerciements au →  cercle des amis du Musée Henry Dunant


Remerciements aux → membres du comité de parrainage et de marrainage

Rapport annuel

Rapport annuel

Le Musée Henry Dunant et le Musée historique de Berne sont les premiers musées de Suisse à avoir développé une forme numérique spécifique pour leur rapport annuel. Des aperçus clairs et divertissants du monde des musées, riches en informations de fond passionnantes, en images, en graphiques et en films, font de la lecture du rapport annuel un plaisir...

...

...